Big Pile Of Dirt – Last Of The Dirt On Cousin Unrelated To Squirrel Edition

So some of you may have been wondering about the status of my big pile of dirt.  And one of you inquired about the status of the elderly, blind slightly senile cocker spaniel I occasionally watch.  Happily, the big pile of dirt is no more. Sadly, neither is the cocker spaniel. Fortunately, the dog’s demise did not happen under my watch. That would have been awful.

I would have updated you sooner on the big pile of dirt, but I got sidetracked by the dog death which freed up my Memorial Weekend allowing me to head out of town. Of course, I would have been out of town on the holiday weekend if the dog had not died because the dog lived out of town and I was supposed to watch him that weekend.  But instead of getting paid fifty bucks a night to watch a blind dog wander around a house bumping into things, I got to eat homemade though not made by a home, but made by me from ingredients that did not come premixed in a box coconut cake with seven minute frosting with my cousin and her sister who is also my cousin and her (the first cousin mentioned) child and grandchild. It wasn’t nearly as confusing as it may have sounded. But it was deliciously fun.

But before I left for the big weekend, I concluded my dirt shoveling. I had been wondering what to do with the last of the dirt as I had more than I needed when a friend called and asked if I had any dirt left. I said I did and she said she’d like to have it so I said come and get it. She and her husband came over and her husband and I shoveled the dirt into the back of his truck. It just about filled up the bed of the truck.

I have some post-dirt pictures of the completed beds. Now I just need to repair and extend the drip irrigation system. That’s my next project and I got the stuff I need to complete the project from the Drip Depot on Friday, so I hope to get that done before heading off to herd goats next week.

And in other though not completely unrelated news, the Friday morning of the Memorial Weekend I saw the bobcat kill a squirrel. It’s Mutual of Omaha’s Wild Kingdom out there with there being my backyard. I told my cousin (the first one, not the second one) and she was sad for the squirrel but I pointed out that bobcats have to eat, too.

So here are the pictures of the last of the dirt but not the bobcat because I don’t have a telephoto lens, but if I did you would be looking at a picture of a bobcat carrying a dead squirrel in its mouth as it headed back to the swamp.  Sadly, or happily, depending on how you feel about dead squirrels, all I have is pictures of dirt and flower beds and an egret.

IMG_0651

This is how it looked at the beginning of its last day. I had shoveled a bit of dirt between my last post and this picture but didn’t relate the details because there is just so much you can write about dirt.

This is what it looked like after all the shoveling was done. The shovel has lost its purpose. I'm a little sad for the shovel.

This is what it looked like after all the shoveling was done. The shovel has lost its purpose. I’m a little sad for the shovel.

This is the largest of the beds I created using the shoveled dirt, edging, mulch, plants and other stuff.

This is the largest of the beds I created using the shoveled dirt, edging, mulch, plants and other stuff.

This is the other side of the bed in the previous picture and yes, I know the side of the house needs to be cleaned. It's on my to do list. I hesitated to even show you  my dirty house but this post is about dirt and I like the palm shadows.

This is the other side of the bed in the previous picture and yes, I know the side of the house needs to be cleaned. It’s on my to do list. I hesitated to even show you my dirty house but this post is about dirt and I like the palm shadows.

This is another bed I added along the side of the house, plus you can see the bed I created around the palm trees.

This is another bed I added along the side of the house, plus you can see the bed I created around the palm trees.

This is a better picture of the palm bed. I planted a couple of tiny bougainvillea. I'm hoping they grow big and climb up the palm trees.

This is a better picture of the palm bed. I planted a couple of tiny bougainvillea. I’m hoping they grow big and climb up the palm trees.

This is a picture of the egret I took on the morning the squirrel met its demise in the mouth of the bobcat. I took this right before the squirrel killing. Sadly, or happily, depending on how you feel about photographers capturing the natural order of things, without a telephoto you wouldn't have been able to see the dead squirrel.

This is a picture of the egret I took on the morning the squirrel met its demise in the mouth of the bobcat. I took this right before the squirrel killing occurred. Sadly, or happily, depending on how you feel about photographers capturing the natural order of things, without a telephoto  lens you wouldn’t have been able to see the dead squirrel.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

26 thoughts on “Big Pile Of Dirt – Last Of The Dirt On Cousin Unrelated To Squirrel Edition

  1. That’s how it is with dirt, here today gone tomorrow. I’m sure it will leave a hole in your daily life, as you walk past pondering the time spent and wondering if it will ever be replaced…
    ok maybe not.

    Jim

    • It didn’t leave a hole, but it did fill a few and while I pondered while I shoveled, i can ponder without shoveling so the shovel shall remain without a purpose, but I have gained a sense of accomplishment!

  2. Out out darn dirt! Flower beds look great.
    Must have been reading our thoughts about the squirrel …I kept searching through pictures for one….(it was a four legged bobcat, not a motorized one…so much more natural…the squirrels her have to be careful with all the cars…. animal squirrels…the human ones seem to get in them no matter the danger)
    Sit. Enjoy your new landscape!

  3. I had a big pile of dirt and a pit. The pit was to burn tree stumps. I thought about filling it back in by hand. Then I thought again and paid someone with a cool machine to do it in 15 minutes. Money well spent.
    I love your choice of bougainvillea for the palm planting. I had 2 beauties in AZ. Sadly they don’t grow in OR. too cold in the winter. Please keep us updated on their growth….with pictures! They will be lovely climbing those palms…

    • Bougainvillea is more common in south Florida, but I am close to the water so I usually don’t get much frost. I have a friend nearby who has a large bougainvillea and says it grows like crazy so I’m hoping mine do, too.

  4. No picture of The Spanish Inquisition coming around the side of the house???? (I don’t know if you are a Python fan. If not, please ignore previous rambling)

  5. I am in awe. That dirt would have stayed in that pile for decades if it found its way to my house. You are awesome!

  6. I have not been down to enjoy the palm trees (and their new flower beds) and the sunny south for waaay too long. Congrats on a good job, well done, and thanx for stopping up north to visit, now that the snow has melted. 🙂

    • Thanks! I don’t celebrate squirrel deaths. Nor do I mourn them unless I inadvertently cause it when they dash in front of my car, though the mourning period is brief.

    • You have impeccable timing, Archon. Goat sitting ended a couple of days ago, but I’ve been going nonstop and just now getting back on the internet. Lots of catching up to do!

Comments are closed.