Big Pile Of Dirt – Does Anybody Really Know What Day It Is Edition

Of course, I know what day it is. It’s today and it will be today all day until today becomes tomorrow at which time we’ll call this today yesterday and tomorrow today. It’s an ongoing cycle where yesterday becomes today which becomes tomorrow. There are only three days that matter though really today is the only one that matters since yesterday is only something that once was and tomorrow is still to come.

I have lost track of how many days have transpired since the big pile of dirt was dumped in my yard. This morning the non-Lord of the Rings tree people arrived and began the tree and vine removal process. I thought it would take them all day, but it only took three hours. It would have taken me three months, but there is only one of me and there were four of them plus they had giant trucks and chainsaws and knew what they were doing.

So after they were gone, I had to run to the bank though I drove instead because it is too far for me to run and then I fixed myself some lunch and it was back to dirt shoveling. I may have overdone it because I am very tired. And there is still an insane amount of dirt to be shoveled but much like Scarlett O’Hara, I’ll think about that when today becomes tomorrow. Now, I’ll delight you with more dirty pictures.

This is the vine choked area that needed to be cleared. I took this picture.

This is the vine choked area that needed to be cleared. You can also see the giant stump from a huge oak tree that was removed about ten years ago. That was also destined for removal at the time this picture was taken which was yesterday.

This is the same area but from a slightly different angle and you can see the vines better.

This is the same area but from a slightly different angle and you can see the vines better.

This is the same area after the tree people finished today and also after I began filling the hole with dirt from the big pile. It's hard to tell from this, but the hole is still a long ways from being filled.

This is the same area after the tree people finished today and also after I began filling the hole with dirt from the big pile. It’s hard to tell from this, but the hole is still a long ways from being filled.

Same area but different angle.

Same area but different angle.

And this is what remains of the big pile of dirt after today's shoveling of said dirt concluded. And that concludes this post.

And this is what remains of the big pile of dirt after today’s shoveling of said dirt concluded. And that concludes this post.

 

 

 

 

 

19 thoughts on “Big Pile Of Dirt – Does Anybody Really Know What Day It Is Edition

    • Between the gators, the very large rattlesnakes and the bobcats, there aren’t any neighborhood cats of the skulking or any other kind. And it is nice to be vineless at last at least in this area. There is another area that the vines are in control but that is a job for another day or possibly year.

      • Do you dig the roots or anything to keep them from coming back? Or just constantly watch and clip as they dare raise a leaf. Vines are a real problem.
        Your wildlife seem to be keeping everything else in line or inside. During one hurricane a little feral cat took shelter in our garage – we looked out at one of the worst parts to see that little cat chasing a big snake across the deck – the snake was looping up and down and really moving. When the cat was satisfied the snake got the message, she went back in the garage – she was not about to share shelter with a big snake. She ended up staying – figured she’s earn her keep ( and she did bring dead mousie presents to the back door step.

        • I’ve been digging up the roots when possible because that is the only way to stop the onslaught. Sounds like your little cat was most appreciative of her new home. Nothing says “I like it here” like dead mousie presents on the door step!

  1. Please know that your first paragraph caused my brain to have a minor melt down, but I’m okay now. In fact, I’m laughing at the never ending pile of dirt. There seems to be no end in sight even though the hole seems to be getting filled. How is that possible? πŸ˜€

    • I think I’m too close to the problem to see the answer but I keep shoveling away. It almost feels like those trick candles they put on birthday cakes that keep relighting when you try to blow them out.

Comments are closed.