Because Sometimes You Have To Get A Little Dirty

So some of you, or possibly only one of you, may have been wondering about the status of the big pile of dirt since last I recounted dirt filled tales. I am happy to report that the big pile of dirt is approximately half its original size though unchanged since my last dirty report.

Because I haven’t been shoveling dirt lately. Because when people say it’s a jungle out there they might be talking about parts of my yard. Because the area that the remainder of the dirt is destined for is still in its uncleared, vine choked state. Because I was slow in getting bids to clear the vines. Because I am reluctant to do the vine clearing myself. Because some of the vines are poison ivy or have nasty thorns, not to mention the possibility of encountering snakes of the venomous kind of which three kinds have been sighted in or near my yard. Because I hate doing that sort of thing with that sort of thing being both dangerous vine clearing and getting bids to clear dangerous vines.

I took a chance in the previous paragraph and used a literary device known as beginning every sentence with ‘because’ because I figured you might have questions and I would read your collective minds though I know I say just above the comment box that I don’t read minds but sometimes I think maybe I can, so I did, and then I answered them but without writing out the questions because you were already thinking them and that would be redundant, so you’re welcome for the lack of redundancy. Now the bids have been gathered and the tree people (though not the Treebeard tree people) will be here Wednesday to do all the clearing of vines and trees that pose a danger to the house and then dirt shoveling will resume.

In other news, I spent the previous 24 hours with my best friend for what may be the last time as he is moving 1320 miles away on Thursday and we won’t see each other again before then. I’m bummed but not sad. I think the sadness might hit later. But we did have a good time yesterday afternoon and last night and this morning. We ended our time together with a motorcycle ride. Top speed for a very short stretch  – 105 mph – woohoo!

I wanted to have a picture of him on his bike, but he wanted to take a picture of me on his bike, so this is me on his bike.

I wanted to have a picture of him on his bike, but he wanted to take a picture of me on his bike, so this is me on his bike. I know it almost looks like I’m riding it, but I’m not. He wanted me to stand the bike up and balance on it but I couldn’t because it weighs a ton or felt like it did and I’m a very little person, but not a dwarf.

18 thoughts on “Because Sometimes You Have To Get A Little Dirty

  1. I’m pretty sure that I’m the one person thinking about your pile of dirt, and I’m dead serious. Only another pile of dirt person can appreciate the whole pile of dirt storyline.. 🙂

  2. Still down and dirty. (We’d be disappointed otherwise)
    Simply a good batch of causes. (Never trust a vine…especially if experiencing wine whines)
    Now, there’s trouble riding….(21/2 days drive?) bummed but woo-whoo!

  3. Hey, through the magic of the internet, you can still keep in touch. And even turn on a strong fan while you skype so it’s like having a riding wind.

    • The fan is a good idea and of course, the internet and cell phones make it much easier to keep in touch, but I will miss his hugs. He gives great hugs.

  4. I was wondering about the dirt, maybe I’m the one? I sometimes envy you your beautiful weather & the sand & water, but then I forget poisonous snakes & other dangerous creatures like your weather too! Not so envious then. Good luck with your vines! Looking at you on your friend’s bike reminded me of the days I used to ride with my boyfriends!

  5. What a gorgeous creature, and the gal sitting on it is cute too. Not sure I’d want to trade snow-shovelling for ‘gators, fire ants, poison ivy – and now, abandoned Burmese pythons. 😦

Comments are closed.