Photos Of Bird On The Run Astound The Slightly Senile

So I have taken a break from the shoveling of dirt to take care of an elderly, blind, incontinent and slightly senile cocker spaniel for a few days. I brought my camera with me though I’ll spare you the pictures of Chief who is the elderly, blind, incontinent and slightly senile cocker spaniel. Instead, I will astound you with my budding nature photographic skills, though ‘astound’ may be overstating your reaction to my bird pictures.

The elderly cocker spaniel lives in a lovely home on ski lake and his home is my home for the weekend. I spied a bit of wildlife through the sliding glass doors and ventured out to get close enough to tell there is a bird in the picture without getting so close as to scare said bird off. What follows is the best of the lot.

I'm not sure what kind of bird this is - maybe a heron.

I’m not sure what kind of bird this is – maybe a heron.

The bird is not the primary subject of this photo but that two story boathouse is and that two story boat house was built almost single handedly by Chief's Daddy though not Chief's dog daddy but his human Daddy who goes by Chris. Chris did such a good job that several of his neighbors recruited him to build their boathouses.

The bird is not the primary subject of this photo but that two story boathouse is and that two story boat house was built almost single handedly by Chief’s Daddy though not Chief’s dog daddy but his human Daddy who goes by Chris. Chris did such a good job that several of his neighbors recruited him to build their boathouses.

I don't have a telephoto lens so I have to creep as close and noiselessly as possible to get a close up shot.

I don’t have a telephoto lens so I have to creep as close and noiselessly as possible to get a close up shot.

Bird on the run though he wasn't really running or even walking that fast because if birds have to get somewhere quickly they fly.

Bird on the run though he wasn’t really running or even walking that fast because if birds have to get somewhere quickly they fly.

My last parting shot because I realized my battery was dying and then I remembered I forgot to bring the cord to charge the camera. It's possible that Chief is not the only slightly senile inhabitant of the house this weekend.

My parting shot because I realized my battery was dying and then I remembered I forgot to bring the cord to charge the camera. It’s possible that Chief is not the only slightly senile inhabitant of the house this weekend.

And that concludes the photo part of this post. Be sure to check back from time to time for more astounding photos of things I spot in other people’s yards. It’s what I sometimes do.

10 thoughts on “Photos Of Bird On The Run Astound The Slightly Senile

  1. Love the birdhouse and boat … er ….
    Always wondered why boats need a house. To keep them from getting wet?
    Super sundownder-platform, anyway!

    • It is an odd concept. Sometimes the boats are lifted out of the water to keep barnacles from attaching to the bottoms but I think the primary reason for a covered place for the boat is to keep the sun from rotting and drying out any canvas or vinyl that may be on the boat while the boat is not in use. And you’re right, that upper deck is a great spot to read and take in the view.

    • And this bird makes quite a bit of noise when it takes flight. It’s like he or she is saying “Look at me, I can fly!” Of course, if I could fly like a bird, I’d probably exclaim the same thing every time I took to the air.

  2. I think the bird may have been checking out the boathouse.
    “Nice”, he thought. “But there really should be more twigs…”

    Hope you and Chief (and camera and bird and cord) have a fun rest of weekend!

  3. Delightful pics! You can see everything about the bird even though you didn’t have a telephoto lens – you must have been able to creep quite close. Looks lovely where you’re staying, hope you have a great weekend!

Comments are closed.