Big Pile Of Dirt – Day Three – Bobcat Edition

It's still a big pile of dirt, but it is less big than it was yesterday.

It’s still a big pile of dirt, but it is less big than it was yesterday.

So this morning I debated whether or not to take shovel in hand and do what one does when one has a shovel in one’s hand because I’ve added sore arms to my sore back and sore legs. I thought perhaps a day of rest might be in order. But after breakfast and a few stretches to warm my muscles, I headed out for round three of dirt spreading.

I know I’m making progress but it still seems like a big pile of dirt in the yard. Of course, some of it depends on the angle. From the best angle it appears that the big pile of dirt is almost half as big as when I started so that’s the angle I like to look at it from.

In other news, after I finished my dirt spreading for today, I was sitting on my back porch and noticed a bobcat walking through the yard. By the time, I got my camera, he was disappearing into the underbrush at the back of the property. It was one of the best wild life sightings in my yard ever! Of course, then I started wondering if he was using the big pile of dirt as a litter box but I haven’t been out to investigate.

This

This is the angle I like to look at the big pile of dirt from because from this angle it looks to be half the size of what it looked like from every angle at the beginning of Day One.

16 thoughts on “Big Pile Of Dirt – Day Three – Bobcat Edition

  1. Animal rescue groups are now rushing to buy large quantities of sand to put in trailers to be ready for the next sighting?
    How amazing. (The bobcat)
    …yes it’s true sand pile do grow once you remove half of them.
    Can’t wait to see what wanders over next…

    • Haven’t seen any other critters, though there were critter prints in the newly laid sand by the house this morning. Probably an armadillo – they love my yard. I’ll be filling in the holes they leave with some of the dirt from the diminishing pile.

  2. Years ago, we had some work done on the foundation of our old house. Our cat kept pooping in the mason’s clean pile of cement sand. He said, “I’m used to it. Cats love to shit in my material.”

  3. When you said bobcat I thought you meant the machine used to spread dirt & other things around. Ha, ha – the joke’s on me, you meant the real animal!

    • Wow! I missed this comment some how. Bobcats are a great wildlife sighting in Florida. I’ve only glimpsed a bobcat once or twice before, but this was very special because it was in my yard! The only thing that beats a bobcat is a Florida panther. I’ve only seen one in the wild once. It crossed a road in front of me as I was driving early one morning about 30 years ago.

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

Comments are closed.