Randy French Rush To Be Risqué

So I think it’s been a little while since last I recounted my latest comings and goings. I have since come and gone and come again which sounds just a little dirty. Though I really don’t like the word ‘dirty’ here. I know what it means. I just don’t like to think of sex as being dirty because it isn’t. I think a better word to embody the randiness of the thought would be risqué. The French always have the right word for randy things. So, since last I recounted my comings and goings I have come and gone and come again which sounds just a little risqué.

Now, that I hear it in the sentence, I think ‘dirty’ is the better word. It is a bit more intimate and street sounding although I’m not sure anyone talks like me. I wasn’t even going to write about my comings and goings except the going kayaking which I did today with today being a Saturday just in case you are reading this on a Wednesday you’ll know the real truth although I’m not sure that truth has degrees of truthfulness. It may be very much like that line in Cloud Atlas “there is only one truth.” Not that I know what that one truth is but I suspect that I know what it is. The one truth not the one truth that was in Cloud Atlas although they are kind of the same if you look at it in the right light. It’s not easy to explain and that would be a post for another day.

But this is the post for today and it’s about my decision to ramble on which was triggered by a comment that was left on one of my posts by Madame Weebles. I just recently started following her but not in a paparazzi kind of way and she’s terrific. Anyway, she left a comment on my Rush post and I was like “Madame Weebles reads my blog??” I used two question marks to give you a sense of my astonishment. So I was thinking about my reply and I thought that was too much to put in a comment so this is kind of my reply although I really should briefly but in a friendly grateful way reply to her comment back on that post which I haven’t done yet. Yikes! I haven’t even approved her comment. Hold on. I’ll be right back.

Okay. That’s done.Thank you for holding, now back to her comment. She asked me about the Rush concert which I attended last Saturday by myself because nobody wanted the free Rush ticket. I almost talked myself out of going because I get a little panicky  about crowds. (Just an aside, but why is panicky spelled with a k? Is there some kind of rule about adding a k to words ending in c before adding a y?) I wasn’t always this way but I’ve gotten much worse over the years and I’m old.  As I was getting ready to leave my house I was starting to feel a little sick to my stomach. That’s the kind of panic I’m talking about.

Wow. It’s been awhile since I used one of those parenthetical asides and it felt good. And picking right back up where we left off…. Despite feeling a bit panicked (must have the same rule for ‘ed’ and ‘ing’), I went and I am so glad I did. Being brave has its rewards. It was phenomenal! I’m not a huge Rush fan. I like everything I’ve ever heard by them but I don’t have any of their albums. But I’m not a guy. When I told my friend Jane that I was going to see Rush she said that there would be far more men than women there because Rush is a guy’s band and she was right. I would say about 15% of the audience was female.

The show was sold out. And this was the first time I have ever attended any big event where I didn’t have to stand in line for the bathroom. I didn’t even have to wait for a stall to open up. Several ladies in the restroom commented that it was the first time they didn’t have to wait but I did hear a couple of men though they weren’t in the ladies restroom complaining in a this has never happened before kind of way of having to wait to get in the restroom. I heard one of them say “Now, I know how my wife feels.”

I didn’t mean to go on about the ease of getting to the restroom though it was one of those rare experiences that doesn’t come around that often which would be the definition of rare. Redundancy can be wordy. What I meant to say was this non-huge Rush fan was blown away by the three hour show. If you ever get a chance to see them live, you should. Also be prepared to see mostly men in the audience. It was kind of cool though. I saw groups of men coming in together and some fathers and sons. Most of the crowd was late 30s to 60s. I’m laughing a little as I type this because I’m closing in on one of those numbers or the other one doubled. There were also some younger dudes there, too.

Now, I haven’t seen many concerts in the last couple of decades but I saw a few great concerts in my day – Allman Brothers, Led Zeppelin, Rolling Stones with Van Halen opening for them and David Lee Roth was still with Van Halen to give you an idea of how long ago and technology has changed. Back then, it was just a band on stage playing and you might get a little light show. Now, rock and pop concerts are multi-media extravaganzas. This concert was like that but the music and lights and images on the video screens really did complement and play against each other. It was very polished and yet there was genuine enthusiasm in the performance.

It was great. Which is what I told Madame Weebles but she really deserved a better response. And this was it, because I so appreciate her comment and all my comments from everyone who comments even though I’m not the chattiest Cathy and I don’t lurk about the internet quite as much as I used to. I’ve been doing yoga and reading books but not at the same time. But I did want to thank Madame Weebles and all my readers for reading but just Madame Weebles for inspiring this post. So thank you Madame Weebles, you’re terrific.

If you’re like me you think this picture is a little out of focus but if it was in focus you’d be able to see a manatee because we saw lots of them today but that’s a post for another day. As for the out of focus-ness, I’d like to blame the camera but I think it was more the operator.

24 thoughts on “Randy French Rush To Be Risqué

  1. You are officially my new favorite person, Sandy. You went to a Rush concert by yourself (I would have flown down to join you if I hadn’t been trapped in the house by flood waters), and you take photos of manatees, some of the most adorable creatures ever. I also like “dirty” better than “risque.” And yes, I read your blog! I only recently discovered you and am still catching up, but yes!

    • We would have had a great time! I experienced a flood in 1993 during the no name storm (the rest of the country got a blizzard) when I awoke to find my house surrounded by four feet of water. It’s no fun being without electricity for days. I’m glad you are back on the grid.

  2. Sandy,
    You know you’ve made it when Madame Weebles read your blog. And I agree with you, she is la crème de la crème, despite her love for my fellow Canadians, Rush….
    Le Clown

  3. You are completely insane but I would have gone to the concert with you just to hang out with you, and make you feel very young.

  4. I am embarrassed to say that I’ve never heard of Rush, but I never pass up free tickets and thus have seen many people in concert that I have never heard of. And then of course, since I cannot remember who sings what songs, I can never remember their name again.

    But actually for a chance to go to an even where there is no line for the ladies’ room would have been worth the airfare.

  5. When I saw Rush, I was amazed three guys could make that much noise and still sound good.
    Glad you had a good time!
    And think what you would have missed if you skipped it. No line at the ladies room? I have never heard the like…

    • Those three guys are amazing musicians. The second part of the show they had a string section – six violins and two cellos and the people to play them. They were really into it, but they didn’t come back for the encore.

      I’m glad I went because I had a wonderful time.

  6. You are absolutely correct – parenthetical asides DO make you feel good. (I’m smiling right now, even though my husband is watching Gold Rush.)

    • Nancy, it’s good to know I’m not alone in my enjoyment of the parenthetical aside. They do make a person feel good. (I’m smiling now, too, but I’m also watching the Graham Norton Show.)

  7. I think spending time on your blog celebrating no lines for the ladies bathroom is well worth celebrating! This is so rare! Thanks for pointing me in the direction of Mrs. Weebles, I read a couple of her blogs & just had to start following her too!

  8. Glad you enjoyed our Canadian group, even alone.
    Yes, there is a rule about adding a K to words like panic. It says that adding a vowel to a word which ends in a C, causes the C to be pronounced soft. Panicy (pan-ih-see) would be like policy. It requires the added K to retain the hard sound.

Comments are closed.