Trifecta – An Opening Gambit

It has been awhile since I posted but I’m goat herding in the land of dubious cell reception and uncertain internet connectivity so I have taken to reading books and writing with pen and paper, but was intrigued by the weekend Trifecta challenge which is to write the opening line of a novel in 33 words and here is my entry.

 

If you are reading this, it means only that I wrote it, but it doesn’t mean I am still here with you, only that at one time I was where you are now.

 

 

27 thoughts on “Trifecta – An Opening Gambit

  1. At least, two intriguing possibilities: The story is autobiographical and the subject is off goat herding, speaking to a group of bloggers; or the subject of the story died and whomever this message is for is in danger. Either way, I’m in!

    • Thanks! I am goat herding for a few weeks, though it really only entails about an hour a day of work – and the most critical part is getting them in the barn at night so the coyotes don’t get them. There are four adults and five little ones in the herd.

  2. Love it! Sounds like the beginning of a Journey To The Center Of The Earth type quest!
    And if the goatees give you trouble, get them back in line by flashing an electric raz- Oh, goats?
    Yeah, that was…unexpected.
    Have fun!

  3. Clean, crisp and unapologetic. Hats off. I’m new to Trifecta, and am making the rounds through reading the links. Following you now, as I am a new fan.

    Cheers,

    Christine
    @thatgalkiki

    • Welcome to Trifecta, Christine! I participate sporadically, but it is always enjoyable. And thanks for the follow. I look forward to checking out your blog.

    • Thanks, Cameron. Not sure about the Dante’s gate reference but I just finished reading a book set in 17th century Venice that quoted Dante a couple of times, so maybe that settled in my subconscious.

    • Thanks! I’ve been reading a book every couple of days – finished the Hunger Games trilogy, a few Stephanie Plum installments, a good spy tale and now on to Christopher Moore.

Comments are closed.