How To Write Naked – The Ambiguous Crazy Point Of Rhetorical Confusion

We have reached that point in the series that we shall call the sixth part because it is, in fact, part six in the How To Write Naked Series of blog writing tips although it is only the third part in the series to have ‘How To Write Naked’ in the title. Today we  will be discussing point of view and we will answer the question of should you have one.

The short answer is yes and I believe that is the shortest answer for yes unless you just nod your head. But it takes more letters of the alphabet to say you nodded your head than it takes to say yes or aye, but yes and aye have the same number of letters so that would count as a tie. Are we counting again? I hate math. That’s why I refrain from top ten lists. I don’t even like the thought of counting. And do you count up or down and what does it say about you if you choose up over down or down over up? Actually, I don’t hate math. Math is pretty interesting in an abstract sort of way, but I don’t like doing math. I would rather be abstract in a word sort of way.

Getting back on point as it relates to point of view, most blogs are written from the blog writer’s point of view. That is known as first person. You can recognize first person point of view by the frequent appearance of the words: I, Me, and Myself, though Me and Myself aren’t always capitalized.  If your blog is mostly about you then this is your best option. Oh, you could write it in the third person, but it is quite annoying when people repeatedly refer to themselves in the third person.

If you decide to use third person, then you need to make another decision about omniscience though this mostly applies to fiction but since most people’s blog personas are a work of fiction, an omniscient decision may need to be made. When you use third person you can choose to be omniscient over all of the characters or you can limit your omniscience-ness to a single character. This is the dilemma faced by fiction writers. Or you can write each chapter of your novel from a different character’s point of view. This doesn’t work that well in a personal blog unless you have multiple personalities. If you have multiple personalities, this is the way to go. And your readers will be either challenged or perplexed trying to figure out which personality showed up for the post that day.

Second person is usually reserved for DYI blogs or other how to blogs. You can recognize second person by the use of you. Saying “You need to ” or “Then you” over and over can get  repetitive and some might say annoying. It is also a great way to subtly influence people. You could say it is a form of brainwashing and if you did just say it is a form of brainwashing then perhaps I persuaded you by my use of you.

Of course, besides just deciding on first, second or third person, it is also necessary to decide if this will be a solo or group effort, though this only applies in the first or third person as you is ambiguous.  If you want to be inclusive, then you might want to be first person plural and act as spokesman for the group. You’ll want to use ‘we’ and ‘our’ instead of ‘I’ and ‘my,’ much like I did in the first paragraph because we are all in this together but not all of us know what this is.

I don’t think anyone knows what this is and I blame myself. I try to be transparent, but clearly, I’m failing at that and unable to articulate what this is so that you can then it explain it to the rest of us. The previous sentence or two, or maybe three as I do believe this all started in the previous paragraph, illustrate the confused perspective. Using I, you and we and allowing those three people to ramble to the point of confusion doesn’t make you a Confucian. But your readers may be confused. If you write your way into confusion either by design or by happy accidental tangents you’ll get mixed reviews. People that think you were deliberately confusing will call you brilliant and those that think your confused accidental writing is a sign of some sort of mental deterioration or over stimulation or what some people like to call crazy will likely call you crazy.

Crazy is a fun perspective to have. It always helps to be a little crazy. But a little crazy goes a long way. It is possible to be too crazy and that line between too crazy and just crazy enough is sometimes difficult to define or maybe it is just hard to find. They sound alike. However, no matter how it sounds, the line only matters if being crazy bothers you but if you are truly crazy you probably aren’t particularly bothered by that.

Once again, actually this makes six times, we come to that point where I usually write a sample post illustrating the writing tip du jour, however, usually is undergoing a transformation. The last post or two of the Naked series served as both the tip and the example and I do believe that applies in this instance. I threw pronouns around willy nilly either by design or overstimulated confusion and moved between solo and group activities with ease and all that throwing and moving either with a group or on my own has been a bit confusing thus answering, but only in a rhetorical way, the question of whether you should have an omniscient point of view and just how crazy can you get. That was two questions if you stopped to think about it, but if you didn’t stop, that’s ok since I stopped for you.

Now that I have compared and contrasted the different points of view for you college professors that may be reading and college professors love to compare and contrast. It is a favorite exam question, though it is more a demand than question. Compare and contrast the theme of loss of innocence in American literature citing examples to support your arguments, blah blah, actually I don’t think there was much more after the arguments but you get the picture of college exam questions.

I think I digressed somewhere along the way, but the advice remains the same. Write naked with your own point of view. The crazy is up to you.

I wanted a picture to illustrate crazy and nothing says crazy quite like a picture of a fire hydrant in Georgia.

14 thoughts on “How To Write Naked – The Ambiguous Crazy Point Of Rhetorical Confusion

    • You’re welcome! I don’t like to think of myself as a joiner unless I’m thinking of joining in the fun, but that’s not what your invitation to join sounds like so I think I’ll continue on my non-joining way, but thanks for loving the thought of my joining you.

  1. “And your readers will be either challenged or perplexed trying to figure out which personality showed up for the post that day.” I’m thinking multiple personalities would be a great way to go for a blog…either have a ‘guest’ poster, when really it’s your alter-ego Bitchy Suzy or just come right out and admit you’ve got ‘others’ living in your body with you. Hmmm….

    • If you’re the Swedish Chef, but I do believe that for most non-Swedish Chefs that Ya is short for You as in ‘Will ya get me another beer?’

  2. Y is shorter than Ya or Yes. As in ‘Y’ or ‘N’? As in that. In that, as in that that that is in. That “that that” that that is in had had “had had” had it had any more ham.

    • Y is shorter but sadly I am not a fan of the text shortcut generation and prefer to spell out words rather than allowing a single character of the alphabet to replace or represent the full word making the other letters obsolete. And if your subtle use of the words that and had are your way of getting me to think I had that then I would like to say that it may be working, or not. Working and not working look the same to me. Again, sadly, I think I ate the last of the ham, but it was tasty.

  3. A while ago, I stumbled upon an app that analysed your facebook posts for the words you repeat most. ME MYSELF and VERY were my top three. Oh yeah, that’s ME. I’m VERY into MYSELF.

    • That is so much better than referring to yourself in the third person, because that would be annoying. I wouldn’t be too concerned with your overuse of first person singular pronouns in your Facebook status updates as that seems to be what Facebook is all about.

  4. I was going to go with some deep philosophial musing on the rhetorical ambiguity of naked confusion, but then I saw the hydrant pic, and holy crap!
    They sure do grow em crazy in Georgia!

    • I experienced the ambiguity of crazy naked confusion except I was wearing clothes when I first spotted the fire hydrant in Georgia which had the immediate holy crap kind of effect on me. My friend asked aloud why I was taking a picture of a fire hydrant which made me wonder if I was somewhat confused by spotting a fire hydrant on a grassy knoll, but I think my friend just thought I was crazy. So in a way you could say I experienced crazy confused hydrant ambiguity though I’m almost certain it wasn’t rhetorical.

  5. Pingback: to the Nth degree « Trask Avenue

Comments are closed.