I Just Did My First 10K!

And I’m not even tired.  I didn’t even have to run anywhere, and no, I wasn’t on a treadmill. I was dining at a little Mexican establishment with a friend when it happened. That’s right.  I passed the 10,000 hits mark. It didn’t even take a year to accomplish, not that I was counting because if I was counting I would have lost track somewhere this side of 99 bottles of beer. I couldn’t even keep track of how many laps around a track I completed the other night. Fortunately, some little hobgoblin or elf or fairy or perhaps just a computer program at WordPress keeps track of how many times my humble little blog has been viewed.

Now, I realize this doesn’t mean that 10,000 different people have viewed my blog or that one person has viewed it 10,000 times. I think the truth lies somewhere between the two. And yes, there are more than a couple of spam hits in that number, but extrapolating from spam comments I’m guessing the number is not significant since significant extrapolation would mean I would have to perform real mathematical computations and that sounds like more work than necessary to arrive at what I’m sure is an insignificant number. Of course significant as well as insignificant, like most everything else, is relative, and I believe they are related to each other seeing how they have so many letters in common.

I think it’s fair to say that in reaching this milestone, no one was more surprised than moi – that’s French for me for those of you who didn’t learn French by taking a class or listening to Miss Piggy and since she liked to interject French into her lines on the Muppet Show whenever I type or read “moi” I hear her voice.  Now, that I think about it, you are probably more surprised than moi, but I just wanted an excuse to use “moi” in a sentence.  You couldn’t have known how close I was because I don’t have that hit tracker visible on my blog.  I do, however, occasionally look at my stats, so I saw the milestone approaching or rather I saw my blog hits approaching that milestone.

When I started this blog way back in June of 2011, I wasn’t sure what to write about and that continues to be a problem. Or perhaps I should think of it as a challenge since problems are problematic while challenges are, well, challenging, though challenge feels like a more positive word. Of course, it could be a problematic challenge which would be the best and worst of both words and worlds.

Speaking of best words – Bellagio. That’s a best word or at least a very nice hotel which I shall be calling home for the two nights that I will be in Las Vegas. In just a matter of weeks, I’ll be tripping the light fantastic. And when I trip Mr. Light Fantastic, I’ll use my standard line that I always use whenever I intentionally trip someone. “Have a nice trip, see you next fall!”  It rarely gets a laugh but it usually gets a groan or maybe that’s just the sound someone makes when they trip.

Now before I got all tripped up talking about my upcoming trip, I was ruminating on the auspicious occasion of surpassing the coveted 10,000 hit mark.  The previous sentence was an exercise in pretentious words though it didn’t start that way. If I didn’t have a blog, I probably wouldn’t have any opportunity to use the word ‘ruminating.’

And if I didn’t have a blog, I wouldn’t have to deal with those moments of trying to figure out how to end a post that is going nowhere fast, because no one ever wants to go nowhere slowly. However, I do have a blog and I’m dealing with one of those moments now.  So since there is no big finish, no hyperbole, no transcendental revelation, no inspirational nugget to carry you through the day or night or the next five minutes, I’ll just say thanks for reading and good night.

46 thoughts on “I Just Did My First 10K!

  1. Awesomesauce! And I will continue to contribute to it also. Now, about the mathematics….divide by the multiplicand, carry the cosine.*&%$….Nah, yer on yer own with that stuff.

    • There’s a reason I write a blog rather than delving into quantum physics and that reason is my dislike of all things mathematical. And thanks for all your contributions. you have made the journey that much more pleasant.

  2. The brilliance of this post alone should bring you another 10,000 hits! Poetry, math, philosophy.
    I bask in your reflected glory, Congratulations, and ROCK ON!!!

  3. Congratulations Sandy!! That is an awesome accomplishment and you have earned every view. Your work is fabulous and it’s no surprise you have such a great following!

    Have fun in Vegas. The Bellagio is beautiful and the fountains very romantic… enjoy.

    Cheers to the next 10,000! 🙂

  4. I’m glad it wasn’t a 10k marathon. I was going to have to hate you. Now I can say congratulations and mean it. Congratulations! That’s quite an accomplishment.

  5. Wow…so many lovely blogger friends you have commenting…congrats on your awesomeness. Yay you! It’s Friday, so I’ll be having wine…I’ll raise one for you too! 🙂

  6. Congrats! I just hit 10,000 not too long ago as well. I’m not a runner, so I’m definitely gonna start telling people I finished my first 10K as well. And several years from now, we can say we finished our first 50K. I’m sure nobody will question that.

  7. Woo hoo! Congraulations!!! … and you can’t get the second 10K without the first. Well done … and to proclaim in a post with numbers, Vegas, and the Muppets!

Comments are closed.