Trifecta Challenge – Memories

The weekend Trifecta challenge is to write a response that is between 33 and 333 words long and uses the words listed below.  Use the words however you wish, but make sure that all three appear in your response.  Oh, and they must appear in order.

Good luck!

  1. cacophony
  2. soap
  3. insects

Memories

A cacophony of cicadas carried on a breeze while fireflies danced beyond the window. Thoughts drifted back to long ago summers, now just remnants of faded memories. He wanted to wrap those memories around him like a blanket but each time he reached for one it slipped through his fingers like a wet bar of soap. Then he noticed the spider hanging by a silken thread. Were spiders insects? He couldn’t remember.

25 thoughts on “Trifecta Challenge – Memories

    • I would like to think that I would have thought of that word without the prompt, but I also like to believe there are no calories in dark chocolate.

  1. I admire that you did this challenge so cleanly with so few words. I felt like I had to construct an elaborate, clunky scenario and even then I wasn’t pleased. Nicely done, Florida!

  2. I got a kick out of the way his mind drifted at the end. And, being me, I wanted to tell him, “ARACHNIDS” But that would have spoiled it, of course, and made him seem more attentive than he really was!!

  3. I’ll be surprised if you don’t place this week. I enjoyed the story from the slippery soap memories, to the ponderings about spiders. Nice job!

Comments are closed.