It’s Official – I’m One Of The Guys

Three Sisters Springs - photo from Florida Fish & Wildlife Service

I survived today’s kayak trip. It was my first kayak trip this year and for the first time, I was the only female in our little party. Randy, Glen, Mark and I set off from Hunter’s Spring park and paddled out into King’s Bay then headed up to Three Sisters Springs.

Beautiful Three Sisters Springs can only be accessed by kayak or by swimming in to the springs from a canal. It is about 12 to 15 feet deep at the deepest points in the springs, but it is as clear as a swimming pool. You can see every little stone lying on the sandy bottom.

Normally, manatees congregate in and near Three Sisters Springs in the cooler months, but it has been quite warm here so there were no manatees in the area. We did spot three manatees in another part of King’s Bay.

After stopping at Three Sisters Springs, we paddled back out into King’s Bay and paddled around Buzzard Island. We did some duck herding along the way. We also stopped at an ice cream shop before heading back to Hunter’s Spring. Where else but Florida can you kayak up to an ice cream shop?

I kept up with the guys, though more often than not I was bringing up the rear. Someone has to be in that spot. A big thank you to Randy for occasionally looking back to see if I was still there. Also a big thank you to Randy for loaning me a kayak and buying me a peach ice cream cone. You rock! Mark and Glen also rock as they made it clear that they are not overly fond of country music.

All in all, it was another wonderful, sunny day in paradise!

32 thoughts on “It’s Official – I’m One Of The Guys

  1. Sounds like an awesome day. Sadly, I don’t think we put ours in the water once last year. Hopefully once we get out of this desert we can will find somewhere we’ll be able to get a little paddling in. Three Sisters Springs looks amazing! Kudos to you for keeping up with the boys!

    • Florida has so many lovely spots to kayak, I’m fortunate to live here. Three Sisters Springs and the Weeki Wachee River are the prettiest places to paddle – definitely worth a visit if you ever make it to Florida.

  2. That sounds like a perfect day, sandy.
    I went food shopping, just finished up the Sunday Night Cook Off, and will be relaxing with some ironing later.

    You definitely had a better day than me.

    • We did have a good time. Plus the guys can tell me what kind of fish we saw (mostly mangrove snapper) and can point out the differences between shrimp boats and stone crab boats. And there is more sports talk than there is on outings with the girls.

  3. Wonderful — it looks like a blast. Good for you for keeping up. I kayak in Maine in the summer, and always bring up the rear. Oh well — I go and I have a great time and I get to pay more attention to the wildlife. And like you, having me along is just so much fun that everybody clamors for me to come. (and if you believe that …)

  4. I have visited Florida three times. Sadly, the furthest the wife and I have made it together, is Charleston SC. Did finances not restrict, we would be bringing you peach ice cream. If the son wins a lottery, we’ll be calling you to look for property in your neighborhood. Used to love the old Johnny Weismuller, Tarzan movies, which were filmed in Florida. He’d dive into a stream narrow enough to be jumped over, and the water was crystal clear and 25 feet deep. That’s how I found out the meaning of cenote.

    • Many of those Tarzan movies, as well as Creature From The Black Lagoon, wre filmed not too far from where I live. Some of those spring fed rivers, like the Rainbow, the Silver and the Weeki Wachee, are still crystal clear.

  5. So beautiful…I am telling my husband about this spot. I do, occasionally, kayak with him and the rest of the family in Michigan, but haven’t tried here in Florida. And I always bring up the rear. Always. That way he can’t hear me bitching about bugs, the uncomfortable seat, and the insanity of being in a vessel that you cannot fish from with your ass a few centimeters above the water line. Yeah….I’m a lot of fun on a kayak adventure.

    Glad you had a good time.

    You had me at ice cream, as well.

    • There are many beautiful spots for kayaking in central Florida. I also recommend the Weeki Wachee River. It is the prettiest river I’ve been on. The first 3/4 of the way are spectacular – very pristine and crystal clear water. Plus there are several spots along the way where you can pull up the kayaks and swim in the river.

  6. That sounds wonderful – if one is fit! Gorgeous scenerey! Are there no overgrown lizards with appetites in that area?
    I don’t have a kayak, but I do have a couple of paddle-skis. Easier to launch in heavy surf, which is what we have most of the time.

  7. Great way to explore a lovely spot. So jealous! Manatees are such funny creatures – entertaining to watch – and you miss them once they wander off. Thanks for taking us along on your adventure

    • It’s always a thrill to see manatees from a kayak and a little scary when you think one is going to surface right under your boat. I’ve known a couple of people who have capsized from that. But this year it’s been so warm that we haven’t seen the numbers of manatees in the springs that we usually see. They think it’s summer and they’re out in the gulf.

Comments are closed.