Trifecta 33 Word Challenge

No periods for me!
There is no better way to express my glee!
In faceless communication,
I express feelings with punctuation,
And I’ll shake up the joint
With overuse of the exclamation point!

This is my response to Trifecta’s 33 word writing challenge on the much abused and overused exclamation point.

I put this up on Friday then after rereading the rules of the challenge I took it down. It seemed to me that the challenge was asking for a story with an exclamation point that was justified and not used in dialogue. My little poem seemed not to conform. However, after reading several of the responses on the Trifecta site, I decided to put it back up. Conformity be damned!

23 thoughts on “Trifecta 33 Word Challenge

  1. I’m glad you put it back up. I think what’s best about this competition is seeing the amazing variety of responses the contributors come up with. Nice, fun piece.

  2. Exclamation points don’t have to conform to rules!!! For one thing, you can use as many as you want!!!!! Try that with a comma,,,,,, or a semicolon;;;;;;
    No way!!!!!!!!!!!!

  3. Agreed. Guilt sucks, as my old friend Flick would say. Keep on mavericking. Evelyn

  4. Ha, this is a clever response. I agree with the comments above — I’m glad you put it back up again. Thanks for linking up and hope to see you for the weekday challenge.

  5. Gah – Can’t believe I missed this.
    As someone who put up three challenges before I read the rules, I wholeheartedly applaud this.
    While standing.

Comments are closed.