In The Game Of Life, Sometimes You Play Tag

I’ve been tagged, though not with graffiti and not to climb into the ring and wrestle an Amazon, but by sweet Megan over at VeryNormal in a blog game somewhat reminiscent of quizzes that made the rounds on Facebook  a few years ago. While I always preferred Twister to Tag, I’m game. I’ll play, though I may also play with the rules.

The rules of Fight Club or in this case, Blog Tag, are to post the rules which I am in the midst of, answer eleven questions put to you by the tagger, pose eleven new questions to eleven bloggers I deem tag worthy, and link to their blogs.  Before I answer Ms. Megan’s questions I should point out that Megan’s questions are far more challenging and thought provoking than the questions she had to answer, so perhaps she’ll do a post answering her own questions.

Question #1 – The best moment of your life?

This is an interesting question in that I believe it is difficult to quantify moments. If one decides that a particular moment was his best, does that then mean that all the moments that follow are somewhat disappointing? If one answers that his best moment is still to come, does it trivialize the moments that have been? There are brief points in time that were delightful – laughing with DJ over margaritas; thrilling – driving 120 mph down a country road; incredible – standing on a bluff at sunset watching elephants cross the Galana river; and intimate – hearing a close friend’s secrets. But often the memorable sweet moments are the smallest. I don’t have a “best moment,” but I do have hope that I will always seek the good in the moments still to come.

Question #2 – The worst moment of your life?

Since I find it difficult to quantify moments as “best,” one might think I also don’t want to quantify moments as “worst.” However, it seems for many people, including me, that it is often easier to dwell on our perceived failures than to celebrate our victories. But instead of reliving the worst moments, we should take what we can from the experience and move forward. Yes, there have been points along the way that were sad – deaths of friends and family members; a blow to self esteem  – a job loss; and crushingly painful – a relationship disintegrates. But each of those “worst” moments shapes who we are, and helps us to grow.

Question #3 – If you could go back and change one thing, what would it be?

Intellectually, I don’t see any value in playing “what if” games. Who we are and where we are is simply the sum of the choices we have made. If different decisions had been made along the way then my life would have been different. Different doesn’t mean better or worse, but simply different – different experiences, different friends, different loves.

Question #4 – If you could go back and tell someone how you really felt when you didn’t, who would it be?

See my answer to Question #3

Question #5 – If there was someone you could tell how you really feel now, who would it be?

A few years ago, I realized that the people I love and care about will only know how I feel if I tell them, so I do tell them that I care about them and that I love them.

Question #6 – Your greatest achievement?

This is another interesting question in that it cannot be answered without defining achievement and possibly success. Some might think that my greatest achievement was accumulating a sizable retirement account and net worth, though I would argue that it was simply a matter of spending less than what I made and investing the difference. Yes, I started when I was in my early twenties but it was simply a matter of consistency.  Others might think that my ability to live on savings for the better part of three years since losing a job is a great accomplishment. I wasn’t sure I would be able to do it and still have five years to go before I can tap that sizable retirement account, but the real achievement would be not worrying about it which I haven’t quite achieved.  I tend to think my greatest achievement is a willingness to question conventional thinking and philosophies and to keep my mind open to new ideas and possibilities.

Question #7 – Someone you wanted to be proud of you who wasn’t?

Living life in hopes of making someone else proud of you is a prescription for dissatisfaction though too often we tend to do just that. And often we put those pressures on ourselves because we fear disappointing parents, children, spouses. Even worse, we can’t let go of that thinking. Pride is an emotion that is best left behind if we hope to live an authentic life.

Question #8 – List the best people in your life right now.

Though I chance leaving out someone, Deb, DJ and Kathy because we have a history that goes back a long way and I appreciate their love, concern and conversation; Zheila and Irmine because we have a dance history; Gwen and my twin, Kim, for support and conversation; Jean, my movie buddy and kindred spirit; Tom for investment wisdom; my Mom because she’s my mom; and Brian for his intellect, perspective, sense of humor, honesty and love at those moments when I least expect it.

Question #9 – Your joy in life is?

My joy isn’t limited to just one thing or even three, but these are high on the list: dancing, sharing laughs with friends over wine or coffee or margaritas, and dark chocolate.

Question #10 – What you wish you could do but cannot?

Most of these would be height related, but it seems pointless to dwell on what I cannot do when there are so many things that I can do.

Question #11 – If I gave you an airline ticket for anywhere in the world, where would you go?

I would choose an around the world ticket that way I could visit all those places I haven’t yet seen as long as I continued in the same direction so I’d start in San Francisco, then head to the Galapagos Islands, Tahiti, Japan, China, Thailand, India, the Seychelles, Turkey, Egypt, South Africa, Namibia, Gibraltar, Spain, Portugal, The Canary Islands Scotland, Ireland, Iceland, Argentina, Brazil and then home.

For my questions, I’m going to steal from the Actor’s Studio which stole from Bernard Pivot who stole from the Proust questionnaire:

  1. What is your favorite word?
  2. What is your least favorite word?
  3. What turns you on?
  4. What turns you off?
  5. What sound or noise do you love?
  6. What sound or noise do you hate?
  7. What is your favorite curse word?
  8. What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?
  9. What profession would you not like to do?
  10. If heaven exists, what would you like to hear God say when you arrive at the pearly gates?

Now I know that was only ten questions but I did say I might play with the rules. I will also refrain from tagging other bloggers, but if you would like to pretend you’re a famous actor/director/writer and answer my questions or if you prefer Megan’s questions to the ones I stole, or if you are just looking for a spark of inspiration then pick a question and run with it.

12 thoughts on “In The Game Of Life, Sometimes You Play Tag

  1. Nice post…very good answers. I will answer your 10..just ’cause I want to:
    friend, bitch, kindness, boastful comments, the ocean, screeching tires, fuck-it, I always fancied being a teacher, anything in the medical profession, “We’ve been waiting for you.”

  2. I’ve read a lot of “Tag” questions lately – and I’ve got to say, yours were very difficult and very deep. You could probably write a book for each question! You did a great job!

Comments are closed.