Does My Centennial Post Deserve A Percontation Point?

Am I the only one who wondered if this moment would arrive? Do moments arrive or do they simply exist and we are the ones who arrive at a moment? Why do we wonder when moments will arrive but never wonder when they’ll leave?

Would this moment have arrived sooner if I hadn’t been preoccupied with thoughts of a possible Valentine’s Day post? Did I wait until now to finish this centennial post so I would run out of time to do the Valentine’s Day post? Or did I just realize I was the least likely candidate to write about Valentine’s Day? Why do we need a special day devoted to love, anyway? Shouldn’t every day be devoted to love? Is this turning into a Valentine’s Day post? Is the best way to segue to another topic the Monty Python approach of “and now for something completely different” but without the dead parrot?

Should we revive percontation points? Do people know that percontation points are rhetorical question marks for rhetorical questions? How many people know that Henry Denham created the rhetorical question mark in the 1580s? Why did the rhetorical question mark fall out of favor in the 1600s? Why do things fall into place but fall out of favor?

Is there a record for consecutive rhetorical questions? Would that record exceed Miles’ record of 38 consecutive non-rhetorical questions? Will anyone recognize that pop culture reference?

Is it possible to write a post using nothing but rhetorical questions? Isn’t that what I just did for my hundredth post?

18 thoughts on “Does My Centennial Post Deserve A Percontation Point?

  1. Not a percontation point, but bells and whistles!!!
    And you should definitely enjoy a glass of wine.

    Also, I completely missed the pop culture ref. But when I googled it, you were the top two hits!

  2. Oh, and I’m assuming the pop culture reference has to do with Miles Crane. The only other Miles I know (or knew) was my brother’s dog years ago. I can’t imagine it was him.

Comments are closed.