The Bad Kitty Side Of Hello Kitty

Yesterday’s post about Hello Kitty panaffles led me on a strange trip through the world of Hello Kitty. My good blog buddy, Edward Hotspur, provided a link to a site for Hello Kitty syrup as he knew Hello Kitty syrup would be the perfect accompaniment to Hello Kitty panaffles.

While I was on the site for the Hello Kitty maple syrup, I decided to check out the Hello Kitty appliances to see if they carried a Hello Kitty waffle maker. Now, I know I said I needed to get me one of those Hello Kitty waffle makers, but I wasn’t really serious about that. I just thought that ‘I gotta get me one of these’ was a good caption for the photo. However, I was curious, though not yellow.

Alas, they did not have the waffle makers but I did find something else that was a bit strange. In the display ad for the Hello Kitty karaoke machine there was a box with a

I’m not sure what the things on the right are, but they looked vaguely phallic.

picture on it that looked vaguely phallic. I’m not sure what this vaguely phallic thing was, but it got me wondering about something, like if there were Hello Kitty sex toys.

My dirty inquiring mind wanted to know and when my dirty inquiring mind wants to know something, there’s only one thing to do. Yes, I googled Hello Kitty sex toys. Now I’m a firm believer that every woman needs a toy drawer, or closet, and I’m always looking to add to my collection, but this is just wrong and not just because at 5 1/2 inches long these Hello Kitty “personal massagers” are lacking, well, length.  I’m shocked that Hello Kitty would allow her image to be used in such a prurient manner.

I was never a Hello Kitty kind of girl. I was always a Bill the Cat kind of girl. Of course, now that I know Hello Kitty has a bad kitty side, I have a whole new appreciation of her. I’m thinking of introducing her to Bill.

Bill the Cat by Berke Breathed

8 thoughts on “The Bad Kitty Side Of Hello Kitty

  1. Be careful. Remember the fallout from the Bill the Cat/Jeane Kirkpatrick romantic debacle.

    Love Bloom County. Thanks for bringing it up!

  2. nice to meet a Bloom County fan, I always loved Opus the penguin. Cant tell you how many times I’ve attempted to explain to the girls (one is HK obsessed ) how it all started given most popular characters had a cartoon, tv show etc. HK was just …… little notepads & pens & lip gloss !

  3. I wish I had come up with the Hello Kitty idea. Use your imagination… the product line is designed primarily for toddlers. I agree the number of H.K. items is a little much, but such is the profit driven retail market place. Little kids are delighted by H.K. stuff, and I vaguely remember having a doll that I loved too. She was a very popular product at the time and her name was Chatty Cathy!

Comments are closed.