The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

I’m a huge fan of movies. I like the big screen experience. I have a buddy, Jean, who also loves movies and we usually see a movie every week. When the trailers for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo first appeared in the theaters a couple of months ago, I got excited. Jean leaned over and said, “You’re going to that one alone.”

We both read the first book. I thought it was great, Jean found it a little disturbing. I read the second book and thought it was better than the first. I haven’t read the third one yet. I haven’t seen it in paperback and don’t know anyone who has the hardback. If anyone does have it and wants to loan it to me, I will treat it well and return it to you promptly.

So yesterday I went to see the movie. I had a gift card that paid for my ticket and a pass for a free small popcorn – score! Then as the cashier swiped my theater rewards card, she said I also earned a pass for a free small soda – double score!

I settled in to my seat in the BIG theater – another score! Our little multiplex only has two stadium theaters, the other theaters are very small. Lately, the movies we’ve seen haven’t played in the stadium venues, but this one was in the big theater.  The trailers were mostly of upcoming thrillers – Gone, The Grey, and Prometheus. That last one is by Ridley Scott and the trailer reminded me of the trailer for Alien.

Then the lights dimmed and the movie began. Now, I’ve easily seen 40 to 50 movies a year over the last three years, but the opening credit sequence of GWtDT is by far the most mind blowing opening sequence I can recall. It is tense, dark and slightly disturbing.  It is set to Led Zeppelin’s The Immigrant Song as performed by Karen O and Trent Reznor.

I haven’t seen the Swedish film so I can’t compare the two films, but if you are fan of the book, you will not be disappointed by this David Fincher film. If you haven’t read the book, you’ll need to pay attention.  There are many characters and plot lines to follow.  The acting is superb. Rooney Mara’s Lisbeth Salander is a standout. She inhabits the role of the title character and her portrayal is more subtle than you might expect. You can see deep underlying emotions play out in her eyes.

I’ll leave you with the trailer of the movie. There is a poor quality youtube video of the opening credit sequence, but that sequence really should be experienced in a large theater with surround sound. It is mind blowing and sets the tone for the movie – an excellent dark, tense, disturbing thriller.

19 thoughts on “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo

  1. Read the book (just that one, not the other 2). How did they handle the scenes with Lisbeth and her guardian? As disturbing as the book?

  2. The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was a FANTASTIC movie: loved it. I never read the book though – wow, you’re game. Reading a book then seeing the movie (doesn’t it always spoil?).

    Great read! 🙂

    • Having read the book first doesn’t spoil the movie for me, but sometimes I’m a bit disappointed if the movie doesn’t do the book justice. In this case, considering the complexity of the book, I didn’t know if the director would pull it off, but he did in a big way. i was very impressed with the film.

  3. The swedish one was fabulous, even with subtitles….and the third book is out in paperback and worth another several hundred page read. CANT WAIT TO SEE THIS!

Comments are closed.