Another 50th Milestone *Sigh*

This is my 50th post. It sounds like quite a bit of typing, but if I had been posting once a day, I would have passed 50 a couple of months ago. I am less than prolific.  When I started blogging, I didn’t have a plan and I am still planless though not entirely clueless. The cluelessness comes and goes.

I’m gearing up for my California trip. By gearing up, I mean I’m doing laundry so I can pack. I’m leaving on a jet plane tomorrow to do some California dreaming or whatever it is they do in California. Yes, Brainrants, I do have a plan and a map to Taco Tia’s and In-N-Out Burger.  I will probably execute said plan with less than military precision but burritos and burgers will be consumed.

Someone asked me yesterday if this upcoming trip was a vacation. Do unemployed people take vacations? I always thought of a vacation as a break from work. Since I don’t work, it’s not so much a vacation as not working in a different locale. Of course, some of you might question why I would be traveling when I am living on savings.  As my friend, Gwen, likes to point out to me when I’m feeling a bit anxious about my long term financial situation, “You could die tomorrow.”

Exactly. I could die tomorrow or live to be 100. It makes long term financial planning a bit of a crapshoot. I did what I could when I worked to save and invest. I’m far better off than many of my unemployed compatriots. I don’t live extravagantly, so an occasional trip to somewhere not here is good for my soul, or perhaps just my mental health.

From time to time I try to be a bit more prolific with the blogging, and occasionally I’ll go for a few days and post every day. And then I’ll go for days without posting or even commenting. I’m in awe of those who post every day. You inspire me and intimidate me. I know Edward Hotspur said in one of his blogs or comments, that you should write and post what you write without doing much editing. Post it even if you think it’s crap. I’m paraphrasing, I’m sure he was more eloquent. This is difficult for me. While not everything I’ve posted has been brilliant or great, I want to believe it was good.

I started out well. Friends were reading my blog. Then I posted Finding Pretend Love on Craigslist. I received the most comments I had received on a post, plus several emails and phone calls all saying that was my best one. I was happy and a little freaked. A month into blogging, I had peaked with my 16th post.  Looking back, it may have been my best post, though I also liked The Plight of the Zucchini post, and my personal favorite is one of my poems, Despair.

I’m listening to Led Zeppelin right now and it makes it difficult to type because I want to type in time to the music – Whole Lotta Love.  Ah, now on to the next song on the list and it is a bit easier to type to – a little Aynsley Lister.

Okay, back to blogging, or writing about blogging. That is what I am trying to do in between phone calls, folding laundry and getting pizza dough into a pan, then toppings on it and into the oven. Dinner will be ready soon.  I think I need a beer. Be back in a sec

Ah, that’s better. What surprised me about blogging was that none of my friends have subscribed to my blog. The other thing that surprised me is that I do have subscribers. Special shout out to John at Trask Avenue. He was my first – subscriber, that is.  He writes beautifully and takes great photographs.  H.E.Ellis or Hellis as her blog friends  like to call her, was my second. She’s awesome and always supportive and encouraging to her follow bloggers. She also wrote a book which I downloaded for the plane ride, but I read the first chapter of The Gods of Asphalt yesterday and it is terrific. You should all buy her book.

I’m not going to mention all 24 of my subscribers, but I do appreciate each and everyone of you.  Kayjai and the aforementioned Edward Hotspur were also early subscribers. They are always encouraging with their comments.  That is the wonderful side of blogging – the positive feedback and camaraderie from my fellow bloggers.

I also want to thank Carol, Deb, Jean and DJ. These friends have been encouraging and supportive in so many ways. I know I don’t say it enough, but I do love and appreciate you very much.

Another Led Zeppelin song is playing, appropriately enough,  Babe I’m Gonna Leave You, and the pizza is ready, so time to sign off. I’ll be blogging again, but probably not until I get back from California as I travel sans laptop.

Oh yeah, this 50th milestone was much easier than the other 50th milestone I celebrated four years ago. That one sucked.

 

35 thoughts on “Another 50th Milestone *Sigh*

  1. My California roadtrip was the best holiday EVER. Get yourself to Dukes on the PCH in Malibu and order yourself some of the best fish tacos known to humanity. Us Brits don’t have “Taco Tuesday”… well, we didn’t until then.

  2. Congrats! This is a better milestone than 50 years, I’d say, having passed that one 4 years ago. I’m going to look at the bloggers you mentioned and at your old favorite posts. That’s a hard thing for m too — some of my best are the early ones, when I tweaked and tweaked. No one reads them 😦

    But I am with you about the friends and relatives who don’t read your stuff. Most of mine don’t either. I feel like it is my baby — and I always recognize their babies, whatever they are. Thanks for making me feel less alone!

  3. Congratulations! I am an admirer of Mr. Hotspur, but my style is the exact opposite. I edit everything I write about 10 times before I post it.

  4. One of the songs wasn’t Going to California? I probably write too much stuff. I am sort of envious of people who write just a few posts a week. I should slow down, maybe. But I have an overactive imagination, and a soapbox.

    • Ha! No, it wasn’t one of the songs I was listening to, though maybe I should have been except I’m not going to California with an aching in my heart. Don’t slow down – I love reading your stuff. I wish I was a bit better at writing everyday. I have great ideas when I’m on the treadmill or while I’m in the car, but by the time I sit down to write, I can’t remember all those great ideas.

      • Get yourself a voice recorder and when you get an idea, leave yourself a little reminder message. Sometimes you’ll find that the act of leaving the message makes it so you don’t have to. On the other hand, I couldn’t do Scenes From A Morning Drive without one.

  5. Congrats on your 50th and on your vacation.
    No, your getting away to a new situation where your entire purpose is to eat burgers and burritos and (b)relax – The 3 Bs! – so it’s definitely a vacation.
    Have a great time, and now I know which of your posts to check out before you get back. And add more posts. Right?

  6. You so rock for this, but I will assure you that you will be rewarded if you visit both establishments. If you can honestly deny that In-n-Out is NOT the best burger in the WORLD then I will eat your thong. Without A1 sauce.

    Oh, and please let me know which Taco Tia you hit. Redlands is actually pretty nice… too much so for SoCal.

  7. 50 is a nice round number. Plus, it’s my IQ!

    Congrats and have fun in California. You will be posting from there, right?????

    • I’m not buying the 50 IQ. Probably won’t post while I’m in California – too much trouble to lug a laptop that I wouldn’t bother opening. If the hotel has a 24 hour business center, I might pay it a visit when the insomnia kicks in.

  8. Congrats on your 50th post…. I came across your blog a few weeks ago, and am loving the posts your write.. thank you!

    Have a great vacation.. err.. trip.. err.. whatever you want to call it… 🙂

  9. Have a great adventure in Cali! I look forward to hearing about it. Your post rang true for me as I’m a new blogger. I’m experiencing the same things. Must be the learning curve. Blog on!

  10. You’re already gone to CA, so you can read this one when you get back. Hope you have a great time and no worries…I enjoy reading your stuff and you are always the first one to ‘like’ my posts…makes me smile…

  11. Cheers on your 50th and a good tribute to others close to you. Meanwhile, I get back from vacation and then you embark on one. I love going to California, so enjoy and fave a great trip.

Comments are closed.