Random Sunday Afternoon Ramblings

I just poured myself a glass of wine, but not before I wondered if it was too early in the day for a glass of wine.  What constitutes too early in the day? If I was in France, a glass of wine at lunch would be de rigueur (I thought a French phrase would work nicely in this sentence).  Or, if I were vacationing in some tropical locale, starting the morning with some sort of fruity alcoholic drink would be acceptable. If I were an alcoholic I wouldn’t be having these thoughts, I’d just get right to the drinking.

I had to choose between a chardonnay and a pinot grigio. I went with the chardonnay as I had the other last night. I usually prefer red wine, but forgot to bring a bottle with me, so I’m helping myself to what was in the fridge when I got here. It’s okay, the owners always tell me to help myself to whatever food or drink they have while I’m tending to their pets.

The last time I was here I helped myself to the chocolate Tootsie Pops I found. I adore chocolate Tootsie Pops. I wish I could buy a bag of just chocolate Tootsie Pops. I once checked the Tootsie Pop website and got very excited when I saw they had bags of just chocolate Tootsie Pops. I clicked on it and was sent to a page that said they were sold out of chocolate Tootsie Pops. Apparently, I am not the only one who would like to buy a bag of chocolate Tootsie Pops. I have checked back periodically, but the bags of chocolate Tootsie Pops are never available.  It would be wasteful to buy a bag of regular Tootsie Pops and just eat the chocolate ones. I have no interest in the cherry, grape or orange flavors. So if you or someone you know works for the Tootsie Pop company, could you get them to send a bag of chocolate Tootsie Pops my way? I did mention their product eleven times, that should count for something in the Tootsie Pop world.  That makes it twelve times.

My furry charges at this adventure in pet sitting are two collies and a cat. Phoenix and Skyler are the collies. Phoenix has hot breath and he likes to stand in front of me with his face about five inches from mine and pant. He pants all the time, as does his brother. They drool, too. Not as much as Hooch, but it is still quite a bit of drool. I have to keep them away from the laptop because drool on the laptop would not be a good thing. This is Florida and even though we’re having a bit of cooler weather, I have the ceiling fan on because I think they like it cooler and I like it cooler. I sleep under a ceiling fan even when it’s 40 degrees outside. I just like to feel the air moving over my skin.

Skyler has one blue eye and one brown eye. I’ve never met a person with two different colored eyes, though with colored contact lenses that would be possible. I wonder if anyone ever does that. My friend, Zheila, has different colored contact lenses though she never wears different colors in each eye, at least, not that I’ve seen. She has lovely brown eyes, but sometimes she wears blue contacts and around Halloween she wears orange contacts. I think they are supposed to be red, but because her eyes are dark brown, they end up looking orange. Last year, she wore a Catholic school girl uniform with the orange eyes so she looked like an innocent school girl from a distance and an evil school girl close up. The orange eyes are a bit disconcerting.

People sometimes wear different colored socks. I don’t know if they do that because they’re lazy, or if they dress in the dark so they can’t tell what color socks they’re putting on their feet, or if they’re trying to be fashion rebels. I once saw a pair of socks for sale and each sock was a different color. I don’t think I would like that. I’m a little CDO – that’s just like OCD but the letters are in the right order.

For most of my life, I have not liked my socks.  In stores, I only see one size of socks for women and it is supposed to fit feet that range in size from 5 to 9.  I wear a size 5 1/2 shoe and socks are always too big. I wonder if women with size 9 feet think socks are always too small.  Is a size 7 foot  the Goldilocks in the world of socks, with just the right fit? I don’t know.  I do know that women’s socks don’t fit me. There’s too much material in the toe area. If I don’t pull the sock tight around my toes, the material bunches and causes blisters. If I do pull the sock tight around the toes, the heel part ends up around my ankles. It’s not a great look, but it’s what I end up doing. Mostly, I wear shoes that don’t require socks.  But recently, I saw a sock display in the children’s clothing section of a store and I realized these socks might fit my feet.  I love my new girl size socks!

I’m not wearing socks right now. I’m barefoot because I’m at home, or someone else’s home. I’m here to cater to the needs of a couple of collies and a cat, which means I open the door so they can go out in the yard and a little while later I open the door so they can come back in the house. This repeats throughout the day. They like to come in and out because they think they’ll get a treat every time they come back in, and mostly they do.  And I get paid to do this! I don’t get paid a lot, it’s not that hard of a job, but the benefits are free wine and a poolside chair on a lovely afternoon.

12 thoughts on “Random Sunday Afternoon Ramblings

  1. A friend came by for a late lunch recently and we got so caught up in talking, reminiscing and sharing our thought-provoking and deeply philosphical opinions that we were still pouring drinks and cataloging other people’s problems when the first light of dawn began to brighten the sky early the next day. As I sipped from my glass and watched through the window as the dark disappeared I wondered aloud, “Should we be concerned because we’re drinking in the morning, or not worry because we’re still drinking from last night.” My friend thought for a few moments before telling me she felt that if you sobered up … either while sleeping or awake … and then had a another drink you had to start over and it was ‘new drinking.’ But as long as you maintained some measurable blood alcohol level it still counted as ‘old drinking’ and you were safe.

    I shared a related story from my college days when I lived with a couple of roommates. Two of us were in the kitched having cereal and drinking coffee when the third wondered in bleary-eyed and droopy-tailed, grabbed a slice of pizza from the box that had been left on the counter overnight (a primary reason we were such compatible cohabitators is that we all firmly believed it was someone elses responsibility to clean up after us) and took a bite. When I warned her that she would get sick from eating last night’s unrefrigerated food she said, “There have been times when we stayed up cramming for tests and munched on a pizza all night long. Why is it okay for you to pick away at unrefrigerated pizza for ten hours but toxic for me to eat it after I’ve been asleep for ten hours?”

    I had to admit she had a point, but still felt that somehow unattended pizza was more susceptible to bacterial infestation than pizza that had been monitored for the same duration. My marathon conversation friend agreed and proposed that it wasn’t the behavior that was at issue, it was the stopping and starting again.

    “So what you’re saying,” I asked, “Is that as long as you keep drinking you’ll never develop tell-tale symptomns like starting to drink at work, starting to drink in the morning or starting to drink and and drive; and supervised food doesn’t spoil, so as long as you’re vigilant, refrigeration becomes completely unnessesary?”

    “Exactly!” she said.

    “Brilliant! I’ll drink to that!” I cried, raising my glass and pointing to the plate she’d pushed aside after lunch yesterday. “You gonna finish that egg salad sandwich?”

  2. I agree…never too early for wine..or sun…or, jeesh I need a vacation to somewhere warm…I’m on my way…pour me a glass, will ya?

Comments are closed.