Is It Hobby Time?

I have crafty friends. They are crafty in the artsy sense, not the sly like a fox sense.  I’m not at all crafty in the artsy sense, though the jury’s still out on the sly like a fox sense.  The previous sentence is a bit of a distortion. I can be crafty in an artsy sense. I dabbled in macrame as a teenager. I tried needlepoint (if completing two rows then tossing it aside can be considered trying), ditto for cross-stitch.

More recently, friends have tried to lure me into the world of beads and jewelry making. They tell me I can make jewelry to match different outfits. Clearly, they haven’t noticed that I’ve been wearing the same pair of earrings, two bracelets, anklet and necklace for the past couple of decades. Or maybe they have, and that’s why they think I’m a good candidate for a new hobby. However, I only remove my jewelry if I’ll be swimming in the ocean or traveling to a third world country. I don’t want to bother with matching jewelry to my wardrobe.

Gwen finally convinced me to join her in a bit of jewelry construction. I chose anklet construction.  While I enjoyed the design phase of the anklet construction, the stringing of very small beads onto a thin wire was tedious and hard on my eyes. I whined a good bit of the ten minutes it took to make  the anklet.  I do wear my creation from time to time. I replace my usual anklet with my personal creation when I’m spending a day or weekend at the beach.

Oddly, I receive compliments on my little anklet every time I wear it. Gwen thinks this is a sign that I should spend more time on jewelry construction. I think it’s a sign that I should exit the jewelry making biz while I’m at the top of my game. Not to mention, that the stringing of beads would interfere with my main hobby of drinking red wine and consuming dark chocolate. I do enjoy my hobby time.

My personal creation

6 thoughts on “Is It Hobby Time?

  1. I like your anklet. You have some talent, though I have to admit that I’m confused as to why you don’t enjoy your ‘hobbies.’ I am so obsessed with making things and doing stuff with my hands that blogging often seems a weak sister… just me. Do what you enjoy. Writing apparently is your “bag”.

    • I do enjoy cooking and baking and dancing, but needlepoint, knitting, and stringing beads is just not my thing. I’ve always thought woodworking would be fun, but power tools frighten me. I have visions of the loss of an appendage and lots of blood, probably mine.

  2. Go out on top and leave ’em wanting more, that’s my motto. Once I get to the top I’ll know if my motto actually makes any sense.

    • It is a great motto, especially for athletes, though I hope you don’t apply it to your writing and photography. I would so miss your posts. You have a wonderful way with words and light.

  3. I am so glad that your first and last attempt at beading was a sucess! I have plenty of beads if you ever get the erg. Thanks for trying something new. GC

Comments are closed.