Do Blind People Have Trust Issues?

Recently, I spent some time with a friend. I don’t want to use his real name, so I’ll just call him Dexter. Not because he reminds me of a serial killer, it’s just the first name that popped into my mind.

Dex and I had been outside communing with nature. As we headed back to the house, he gallantly offered me his arm. I placed my hand in the crook of his arm and we started to walk towards the house.

“This is nice,” I said. “It’s like how you would lead a blind person.”

I closed my eyes as we continued to walk. “This is cool. I’ve got my eyes closed and you’re leading me. Sometimes when I dance salsa with a good lead, I like to close my eyes. It is such a wonderful feeling to trust…”

BAM! I walked into a tree.

“You led me into a tree?”

“I didn’t think you’d keep your eyes closed,” Dex said.

“I told you my eyes were closed. I was talking about trust and you led me into a tree. I can’t believe you would lead a blind person into a tree!”

“You’re not blind.” He was stifling a laugh which could be an indication of a slightly sadistic streak. Clearly, I needed to rethink his serial killer potential.

“I was pretending to be blind.”

“But you’re not blind.”

“You’re not very trustworthy,” I said.

“I’m very trustworthy.”

“You can’t be trusted to lead blind people.”

“Of course I can lead blind people.”

“You led me into a tree!”

“You’re not blind!”

I think this is why blind people get seeing eye dogs.

5 thoughts on “Do Blind People Have Trust Issues?

  1. Pingback: Double Dip Chip Conversations With A Chicken Dinner | sandylikeabeach

Comments are closed.