The Trouble With Texting, Part Two

A couple of days ago, I ranted a tiny bit about my preference for texting entire words rather than the cutesy text shortcuts. I noted that I was particularly annoyed by the abbreviation of short words, specifically “jk” for joke and “k” for okay. 

A dear friend sent me an email explaining that “jk” means just kidding, not joke. She included the following explanation:

Omg is different than OMG!  Where the first represents surprise the second is “total shock”.

bff is different than BFF         As a female I don’t think I have to explain this one

Okay is different than ok is different than ‘k  

          Okay I hear you and I will clean my room – I promise

          Ok that sounds good to me

          ‘k  alright I’m thinking about it & probably yes

LOL is different than Lol is different than lolololol

          LOL  a big hearty laugh

          Lol   Laugh & smile

          lololol  Smile & chuckle

?        please answer the question

 ….?     do you agree      

 …….?  I hope you are still speaking to me

Now, I found this particularly illuminating especially the bit about the question marks standing alone or preceded by an ellipse or two. It goes a long way towards explaining some recent texts from another friend who likes to have philosophical debates via text. NJ. I think this means no joke, but it could mean nose job or nobody’s jujubees. How can I be sure without a dictionary?

Of course, I realize that most of these text abbreviations were thought up by teenagers, but I do not wish for my communications to sound as if they were typed, or in the case of texting thumbed, by a 1990’s vintage valley girl. So I will continue to thumb out each word.

You, however, are free to abbreviate to your heart’s content. If you decide to abbreviate with me, just keep in mind that if I think “jk” means joke and “nj” could mean nobody’s jujubees, no telling what I’ll come up with for your abbreviations. Because like those 1990’s valley girls, I’m too lazy to look it up.

4 thoughts on “The Trouble With Texting, Part Two

      • So what’s LMFAO? Thanks for the texting lesson, I don’t have a clue about any of it. I suppose I will have to get with the program before too long and learn how to text. But calling is sme (so much easier)

        • I prefer calling, too. It may be because I live alone, but it is so much nicer to hear a voice rather than reading words and imagining the voice. LMFAO means laughing my effing ass off – and that is so DJ.

Comments are closed.