Hide And Seek In The Grocery Store

I went to the grocery store today to buy three things: carrots, blueberries and feta cheese. I took a list with me. If I hadn’t taken a list, I would have emerged from the store with three things, but they may not have been the three things I went in to get.  Two of them would have been what I wanted, but that third item would have been a guess after wandering the store for a few minutes trying to recall the last item.

I only managed to get everything on the list because the list was quite short. You might laugh, but yesterday I went to the grocery store to do my weekly shopping and failed to get those three items despite having them on my list. In truth, only carrots and blueberries were on my list. I thought I had feta cheese which I need for my Greek panzanella salad. In fact, I did have feta cheese, but as I discovered when I went to make my salad, the sell by date was early May and we’re now in July.

Now, to my credit, most of the time I manage to get everything on my list, but yesterday, I was thrown off my game because the store had relocated one of the items I needed. I hate it when they do that.

I do not stroll up and down every aisle in the grocery store. I mainly shop around the edges hitting the dairy case, the produce area, the meat case and occasionally the bakery. I only venture into the center aisles when I’m out of coffee or cereal or some other necessity. I know where everything is, my list is in the order of my path through the store. I’m in, I get what I need and I’m out of there.

Until they rearrange stuff. I think they do it just to mess with us. This time they moved the agave nectar. I use agave nectar to sweeten the coffee flavored milk I drink in the morning. For the last few years, agave nectar has occupied the end of a row in the organic section of the store. But not yesterday, it had been relocated like someone in the witness protection program. 

I looked around the immediate area, then went over to the aisle where honey hangs out because agave nectar is similar in taste to honey but doesn’t crystallize. Then I hit the sugar aisle because they’re both sweet. Still no agave nectar. 

I had to enlist help in my quest. The two store employees I asked were unaware that agave nectar had moved out of the neighborhood. It took a few minutes, but we finally tracked down its new, less prominent address, at least for now. 

Of course, next time, something else will have been moved. They really do like to mess with us.

4 thoughts on “Hide And Seek In The Grocery Store

Comments are closed.