This Explains Why I Don’t Have a Tattoo

So one week, three major changes to the look of the site and numerous minor changes to the sidebar, this would be why I’ll never have a tattoo.  A tattoo requires commitment or possibly apathy after the fact. I’ve changed my hairstyle and hair color so many times over my life I’ve lost count. I wouldn’t be able to do that with a tattoo. I’d be stuck with it.

Now you may be thinking, but you have pierced ears – that’s permanent. Well, duh, it is permanent, but I don’t have to wear the same earrings everyday. The fact that I tend to wear the same ones everyday is more a result of laziness. I sleep in them and only take them out to clean them or when I know I’m going to the beach or a third world country.  And I can and do occasionally wear different earrings.

Of course, there is not just the what should the tattoo be question to resolve, but the where should it be located question. I would probably tend towards a location not easily visible to most people, but then if no one can see it, why have it? Do people get tattoos for themselves or to impress others?

I’m quite fascinated by tattoos as anyone I’ve ever met with a tattoo can probably attest. I’ll stare at the tattoo. I pepper them with questions – Did it hurt? How long did it take? Why did you pick that? 

One guy had this weird geometric design tattooed around his bicep. I asked him what it was.

“It’s tribal,“ he replied.

I couldn’t resist. “What tribe do you belong to?”

He laughed, just a little. No one had ever asked him that before, which might explain why he didn’t have an answer. 

 

9 thoughts on “This Explains Why I Don’t Have a Tattoo

  1. I decided against ever having a tattoo myself when I saw a woman at Adventure Island with a beautiful long stem rose that had over the years due to weight gain became an entire garden. No thank you!

    • That reminds me of something a comedian once said about a woman who gets a tattoo of a little yellow butterfly on her breast when she is young. Then after gravity takes its toll that little butterfly becomes Big Bird! 🙂

  2. If you have any doubt about wanting a tattoo than you are doing th right thing by NOT getting one =) My back is covered in tattoos- all of them with great meaning that is special to me… I show them off only when I go dancing (low back shirt) and of course when I swim. Other than that, I keep them hidden… although I MAY someday get a family of sparrows, I think I am finally done… =) (Oh and I did regret ONE that DID have meaning to me… I covered it up with a cooler, more beautiful MORE full of meaning one and I’ve never looked back) 😉

    • I just never found a design that I loved that much. And I’m not too fond of needles, so that’s another obstacle for me. Hope we can do some salsa dancing soon!

  3. Sandy, like you I never though I would get a Tat. However, one of my sisters, there are four of us, thought it would be a great idea for us all to get one. Last Summer my Mom turned “85”, to celebrate we had a party Labor Day week end. Since there are four of us girls we all got a “4 Leaf Clover” tattoo. They are in honor of our Mom and to show her we are proud of her. Mine is about 2 inches below the outside of my left knee. I love it! Because everytime I see it I think of my Mom and the great life she gave us Four Sisters. Jackie

  4. Reread the story tat lovers! Sandy the thing you do best is sarcasm coupled with a healthy dose of poignancy. Lovin’ it!

  5. Pingback: Sand is Good for the Skin and Good for the Soul « Necrotic Hijinks

Comments are closed.