It’s All Greek To Me, Part One

Ahhh, the joys of flexibility and not just the physically fit kind. This past week began with a call on Monday from Chris asking if I could petsit with his dog, Chief. He wanted me to come down Tuesday night and stay until Thursday afternoon. Since I had no set plans, I said yes.

Tuesday morning, I called Dawn and we made plans to meet for lunch on Wednesday. I left a message with Jenn as I hoped to get together with her either for dinner on Wednesday or lunch on Thursday.  Jenn then left me a message saying that she wouldn’t be able to do dinner as she was on vacation, but would check her calendar when she returned to work on Thursday to see if lunch would be a possibility.

I arrived at Chris and Amber’s house on Tuesday evening and they introduced me to Chief, their blind cocker spaniel, and showed me around the house. Soon after leaving on their trip, Chris called and asked if I could stay another night as they wanted to extend their trip.

“No problem,” I replied and we agreed that I would stay with Chief until noon on Friday.

On Wednesday, as I headed out the door to meet Dawn for lunch, my cell phone rang. It was Dawn, calling to say the morning had gotten away from her and could we do lunch on Thursday.

“No problem,” I replied and we agreed to meet the next day at California Pizza Kitchen. I went back inside the house and fixed a salad. I left Jenn a message saying Thursday would not be good for lunch, but I could do dinner that night or lunch on Friday.

Chief and I spent the afternoon lazing on the screen porch enjoying the breeze and the view of the lake, though I’m the only one who enjoyed the view. Chief enjoyed the smells. I did a bit of writing. Jenn called later that day to say lunch on Friday would be perfect and we settled on a time and place.

Thursday morning was a bit gloomy with the threat of rain. I headed over to the mall to meet Dawn at CPK.  I know Dawn from my former life as an employed person. We worked at the same dealership and would have lunch together at least once a month, time and our schedules permitting. She still works there, and when I’m back in the area, we get together for lunch when we can.

Dawn brought her youngest daughter, Erin, with her to lunch. Erin adores mac and cheese, even the fancy CPK mac and cheese made with rotini instead of elbow macaroni. I use rotini in my mac and cheese, though I opt for the whole wheat variety. I also substitute frozen butternut squash for half of the cheddar cheese and top it with breadcrumbs crushed from my home made garlic croutons and a little bit of parmesan cheese. It’s yummy.

Dawn has three kids and all of them have a first name that starts with the letter “E” as does her husband. I’ve never asked her if being the only one in the family without a name that begins with “E” makes her feel special or a bit of an outsider.  If she should ever want to join the “E” crew, I think she should try on the name Eos.

Eos was the Greek goddess of the dawn. She opened the gates of heaven each morning to let her brother, Helios, drive his chariot across the sky.

I think this name would be perfect for her and not just because of the obvious Dawn-Eos connection but because Dawn is as beautiful as you would expect a Greek goddess of the dawn to be. She has gorgeous light red hair that she wears long and straight, though she occasionally wears it a bit wavy. She has a cute figure and a dazzling smile.  Her laugh is contagious and she always strives to make life easier for those around her.  She’s courageous and a fantastic friend.

She’s also flexible which makes her a perfect travel companion. She helped me celebrate my 51st birthday three years ago in Las Vegas. We arrived without much of a plan, choosing to let spontaneity be our guide. We rode the roller coaster, dined at Rao, saw Bette Midler in concert, and hit a salsa bar.  Copious amounts of alcohol were consumed, mostly margaritas and cosmos with a few glasses of wine thrown in for good measure. We had a blast!  I can’t reveal any more details because of that whole needs to stay in Vegas rule, but I can attest to her ability to keep a secret!

2 thoughts on “It’s All Greek To Me, Part One

  1. Pull the first part of the story together being more narrative instead of diary like. I love the Eos part- it’s very clever but play it up more. Hope you think I am helpful because I love your stories and my goal is to get you to write a book! Of course, nobody likes a critic!!!

Comments are closed.